Asian Hospital’s RUNEW

It was supposedly my first 15K run but it turned out to be my first DNF (Did Not Finish)!

I was a good 20 minutes late for the 15k run but I was still egged on by Coach Rio to start and try running the 15k. I did but while I was running, I was debating with my inner self on whether to continue with the 15k or just finish the 5k. I know I can finish it but mentally I was in shambles already. I was rattled from being super late and I lost my focus on the run. I was trying to pysche myself to concentrate and just continue with my pace which I think is still acceptable (I am on a race with myself, I do not have to worry about the others ahead or behind me). But then the thought of just running the 5k still persists. Despite of it I still continued with the 15k route, ignoring the 5k first turnaround point which separates the 5k and 15k runners. But then I made the mistake of turning left back to McKinley instead of running straight ahead of Lawton going to Bayani Road enroute to the Heritage Park. That was either bogak me ruling my feet or that was my inner self winning over my desire to try and finish the 15k. I did not attempt to correct the mistake anymore and proceeded running to the 5k chute but did not check-in to the finish anymore. Hmmm…

Having finished early, I proceeded to getting my camera to satisfy myself with just taking photos of my friends who were running the 15k. Oh and I thought about my best bud Pol whom I registered for his 15k also. I tagged Zinnia along to Bayani Road and there we took photos of our runner friends. When Pol arrived, I ran with him until he reached his first 15k finish. Pol said that the 15k route was good but was really challenging. Hay, i was really inggit. Oh well, next time I guess…

At the finish, runners were treated with a lot of freebies which is getting common to all Runrio races. There were loot bags (filled with alcohol, face towel and canned juice drink), Men’s Health Magazines, bottled water and not to forget the free photo from PhotoVendo. We ended up having a good buffet brunch courtesy of Coach Rio who gave us the tickets for it (Thanks a bunch Coach!). DNF or not, the Runew race was again a well-organized race by the Runrio team. And in fairness, Coach Rio seems to be getting the knack of organizing spectacular races – he doesn’t look stressed anymore despite the lack of sleep. What’s best, his smile is readily plastered on his face for all to see. Congrats Coach Rio and the rest of the group. Back to training I will be this time for the Condura 21k.

Enjoy viewing the pics!

that's me at the Runew stage

that's me at the Runew stage


Zinnia!

Zinnia!


with Pinoy Ultra Runner Hector and Z

with Pinoy Ultra Runner Hector and Z


with Bday Boy Mikey - Happy Bday BK! :)

with Bday Boy Mikey - Happy Bday BK! :)


the super fast Mark P

the super fast Mark P


Jay - Prometheus Cometh

Jay - Prometheus Cometh


Mon - Happy Feet

Mon - Happy Feet


Booby - the Blog Clogger (hehe!)

Bobby - the Blog Clogger (hehe!)


Roselle

Roselle


Inspiring! They took on the 15k just like a walk in the park!

Inspiring! They took on the 15k just like a walk in the park!


Sir Ipe of Happy Feet

Sir Ipe of Happy Feet


Queenie and Jinoe of Takbo.ph

Queenie and Jinoe of Takbo.ph


our favorite ULTRA classmate Boy

our favorite ULTRA classmate Boy


Nike RUnning Clinic classmate

Nike Running Clinic classmate


Pol running to his first 15k finish

Pol running to his first 15k finish


Bobby and Jay

Bobby and Jay


with Pastor Ernie of PMTB

with Pastor Ernie of PMTB


Pol an Deo P of PMTB

Pol and Deo P of PMTB


Photographer on the Run - Ben Chan

Photographer on the Run - Ben Chan


RC of PhotoVendo

RC of PhotoVendo


at the Buffet Brunch with girl runners and boy mtbikers

at the Buffet Brunch with girl runners and boy mtbikers


group pic with Coach Rio

group pic with Coach Rio


with triathlete and chef Kaye Lopez

with triathlete and chef Kaye Lopez


Coach Rio and Kaye

Coach Rio and Kaye

8 Responses

  1. Kumpleto pictures mo! I think you made the right decision. Baka ma-injure ka pa kapag mag 15K ka.

    Regards Mark & Tiffin

    yep, i was thinking somehow my subconscious steered me to make that turn altho i was all set to run the 15k (kasi feeling ko kaya ko) no matter what or was it some kind of divine intervention? i was praying din kasi – “Lord bahala na just make me safe.”… and He did… :)

  2. it’s ok KR, what’s important is you’re not injured. you still have 1 month to train for the condura skyway half, dun ka na lang mag concentrate. basta kami andito lang sa tabi-tabi to support you…kaya mo yan!

    thanks bobby. todo na ito. go, go, go!

  3. sayang wla ako sa pictures mo. NAndun ako at nakita kita malapit sa finish line. :)

    Papa peps! Sayang, I saw you and tere too. Next time ha, sa condura malamang or maybe even before that. Practice run tayo then dinner one time sa BHS ha or MOA… :)

  4. pano ba naman di malaki ang smile ni Coach? Ha ha ha ha!

    whooppppssss!!! mouth closed for repairs ako jay! lol!

  5. bogak! hahaha. nice pictures KR esp of MarkP

    LR, nagtatago ka pa rin sa picture taking?

    wehehe! miss ka namin ever… ;)

  6. Hahaha nice pics vimz! Let’s now focus on the condura run! yesssssss skyway!!! :)

    lezzgggooooo!

  7. Nice photo KR! Galing din ni Mark, naka-Happy Feet pa. Natawa din ako sa pose ni Ben. Parang ‘yung sa Mac Computer na dini-distort ang face. :)

    Even if you DNF, it’s still OK. Your mission on that day was to take photos of us. :) See you at Condura Run!

    yep, see you! ;)

  8. Hey vimz, missed you last tues at Nike. Nice pics. Kakainggit yung brunch :) Congrats with your 5k…at least it was happy and injure free. See you soon!

    hi jaymie! yeah i was sick, hay! we missed you and junC at Runew naman and of course sa brunch and post-race churvas. hope you and junc’s knees are getting better. thanks ha and see you! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 514 other followers

