NEWTON Women’s Stability Trainer

A couple of months ago, I received a surprise gift from the good people of RUNNR. This gift (an early birthday gift then, btw), the NEWTON Women’s Stability Trainer have been resting inside its box in my room, until I finally felt the perfect time to put it on to try just a week ago.

I have known about the Newton line of running shoes ever since the  first ever RUNNR Store opened and they introduced this to the Philippine running public. But I never got to own a pair until just this instance. And may I just say that its feels as if I found a new friend!

You see folks, I have in the past weeks have started feeling pain and discomfort on the bottom of my feet which, in the absence of a professional diagnosis, I will have to say is something that quite resembles a “Plantar Fasciitis” injury. Due to this, I have been very wary of trying out new footwear in the fear of aggravating the pain/injury more. 

But then again I checked the Newton Official Website and found this material about my pair:

“Newton Running’s top-of-the-line stability performance trainer is the ultimate shoe for Natural Running. Get a fast, flexible ride with greater energy return and less impact. This model has medial posting to offset pronation, enhanced durability in the heel, a new high-rebound midsole material and improved upper fit. This shoe allows you to run naturally — faster with greater efficiency and less overuse injuries (like achilles tendonitis and plantar fasciitis).” 

And they got me at the last statement! :) And so truth be told, when I went on to sign-up for only the 5km race category of the NatGeo Earth Day Run, I decided that this will be the time when me and my new friend will have to get to know each other. As it was recommended that it was best to try to adapt to a pair of Newtons slowly and via short distance runs, the 5km race category is to be the perfect opportunity.

Today, can I just say that I finished the race with much satisfaction as not once did I feel the pain on either feet. And that was a great relief! With that development, my friend gained a ticket to come with me to my upcoming vacation. Hopefully we can have some time to bond and explore together.

And until that happens, I will have to just leave you all with my initial observations about the shoe:

  • it is light, my pair weighs a 8.7 ounces only
  • it has an open-air mesh that makes the foot breathable (i can see my socks from the outside!)
  • from my first use, the lugs on the shoes did not feel awkward or uncomfortable at all
  • it does help me land on my midfoot – just like when I run using my other favorite shoe when I Go, Run…
  • it comes in cute, no- loud color combinations but the one I have is just fine

My new friend is not the newest model in the Newton line of shoes, therefore, there are other bloggers who have come up with good worth-reading reviews about this shoe already. You may want to check Jaymie’s or Bards’ posts about the Newton Stability Trainer too as they were some of those who have owned a pair of this early on.

As for me, I will be looking forward to finally being able to fully-adapt to my pair and see if it can truly help me with my full running comeback. Who knows, I might be running in my Newtons at the same time that Papa Piolo does too! 

Thanks to Tin of RUNNR for my pair! Newton shoes are available in all RUNNR stores nationwide. 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 544 other followers

