I Lap You!

As  I prepare to finally get back to running training , I have decided to forego with the use of my GPS-enabled watch for now. I instead found (more like received!) a watch that will work well for me during my back-to-running-as-a-newbie-training. One that is sleek and simple to use. It isn’t a watch with all the features that one may need in all running conditions though – since it doesn’t measure the pace and distance ran. And oh, it also doesn’t come with a heart rate monitor. Presenting, the newest addition to my sports watch collection:  ;)

TIMEX IRONMAN TRIATHLON 50 LAP Mid-Size Watch T5K500

 

Why do I like it?

The watch will work best when I am doing my training at a venue where distance is already measured, like the ULTRA or the BHS loop. In these cases, I only have the need to measure my lap times and total run time, which is among the watch’s key features. Simple, no fuss and easy to use for someone who is a technical dud (that’s me! I just don’t enjoy reading technical manuals!) ;)

Best of all, it is just the right size for my wrist! Not too big, as other sports watches are and also not too small. For a person with a small wrist such as I, this mid-sized watch is just perfect. I can even wear it anytime with my casual clothes! ;)

perfect fit! :)

Oh and have I also told you that this watch is not only good for newbie runners? Yep, yep, yep! This Timex Ironman Triathlon 50-Lap Mid-Size Watch T5K500 is good for those who are new to swimming, cycling or a combination of these three disciplines – triathlon!

Any newbie runner or triathlete or any sportsman need not invest in a more expensive sports watch as one’s essential needs (be it in triathlon, running, swimming or cycling) will perfectly be addressed by this watch. Here are the basic features as I gathered from http://www.outdoorgb.com/run.asp:

  • Silicone strap
  • 100-m water resistance 
  • Quartz movement
  • Stainless steel and resin case 
  • Chronograph – the manual says that the Chronograph training log stores workouts by date, with best lap, average lap and total segment time (hmm…)
  • Date 
  • Alarm – never miss any race or training schedules as this watch has three customizable options: daily/weekday/weekly
  • Indiglo illumination – night mode is a must watch feature as runs usually happens either very early in the morning or at night.

For newbie runners/triathletes out there, this watch will surely last you until such time when you will want to experience training with a GPS-enabled watch, effectively check your pace and heart rate and download your training data into a computer for analysis. For me, this watch will certainly be my buddy as I get through my “newbie-again” running phase. 

NOTE: The Timex Ironman Triathlon 50-Lap Mid-Size Watch T5K500 is locally available in Timex Concept Stores nationwide, select running and sports shops  and via online through Outdoor GB , visit them at http://www.outdoorgb.com.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 534 other followers

