Discovery Channel’s VERTICAL RUN 10k and FREE 10 Race Kits Promo

Discovery Channel, for the second year, brings to us this different running challenge – the VERTICAL RUN 10K race eventon February 12. If you are one of the many who would like to be able to try something different with regards to running races, this event is definitely for you! The 10k race category of this event will have runners run a route for about 9.5 km, go up and down 21 floors of the Stamford Executive Residences building (19 floors plus parking levels), and then complete the 10km with a 500m run to the finish. If this isn’t a great challenge, I do not know what else is! 🙂

Read on for the details below to know the extent of challenge that will be in-store for participants.

And SURPRISE! Discovery Channel has given me TEN (yes, 10!) RACE KITS that I can raffle off for 10 lucky readers of this blog. Read the blog promo mechanics below. 🙂


Discovery Channel Vertical 10K Run
February 12, 2012
Stamford Executive Residences for Vertical 10K,
Venice Piazza Mall, McKinley Hill, Taguig City
3km/5km/Vertical 10km
http://www.verticalrun.com.ph

Registration period: Dec 21, 2011 to Feb 5, 2012
Registration sites: RUNNR, ROX, selected Aquabest branches,
Online Registration site: http://www.verticalrun.com.ph

Registration Fees:
3km – P500
5km – P650
Vertical 10K – P1000
* There is an on-going Register 1+1 promo so everyone is encouraged to register in pairs to be able to avail of this promo.

Beneficiary: Earth Hour 2012

Finishers will have Finisher’s Shirts:

Top winner will represent the country in the vertical marathon at the Swiss Hotel the Stamford Singapore on November 2012.

Prizes:

ROUTE MAPS:

FREE RACE KIT CONTEST MECHANICS:

1. Ten (10) Discovery Channel Vertical Run race kits are to be raffled-off in this blog (with one person winning one race kit).
2. To gain a raffle entry, one must post an answer to this question: “What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?
3. Answers must be posted as a comment to this blog.
4. One person, one comment/answer only. Those who will post more than one answer will be disqualified. 
5. Comments/posts which do not answer the posted question will be deleted and will not be entitled to a raffle entry.
6. Answers can be posted from today, January 27 until Sunday, January 29 at 8PM.
7. Winners will be determined via a raffle using randomizer.org.
8. Winners will be announced by Monday, January 30 and will also be notified via email (so please do indicate your email address in your comment) on how they will be able to claim their prize.
9. Race kit that will be received as a prize is transferable but cannot be exchanged for cash nor is it for sale.

59 Responses

  1. What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?“

    Whenever I join any Running event, I make sure that I dispose of my trash properly especially the plastic cups. The few seconds of me throwing my used plastic cup in a trash can/bag after every drinking station may influence other runners who happened to see me doing it. Living in world where cleanliness is also a priority just makes it awesome.

  2. I walk and run as most as I can to my destination to save on resources.

  3. i believe my running and recycling contributes, even in a little way, to the world being awesome

  4. i join races that have noble and ecological advocacies.

  5. Making a habit to be aware of how to preserve our mother nature and joining related campaigns to promote global awareness that will benefit our future generations. (jovillson@gmail.com)

  6. What personal activity or practices that I do which I think makes this world awesome? Well being a make-up artist, I believe making faces more beautiful and awesome than it really is contributes to making a more awesome world!

  7. What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?

    Joining for a cause runs rather than commercial runs…

  8. What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?

    Promoting tourist spots in the Philippines through trail running… it’s more fun in the Philippines.

  9. Laging binubulsa ang maliliit na basura sa bag/bulsa kapag walang makitang malapit na basurahan.

  10. I commit to 3R’s (recycling, reusing and reducing) for the world to be more awesome…

  11. “What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?“

    i bike to work to conserve gas and lessen carbon footprint !

  12. running, instead of using a car for a short km distance now i run. so its’ not just the world that is awesome, but me as well. =)

  13. “What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?“

    I conserve water and electricity. I think by doing so I contribute to the world being awesome by making it more sustainable for everyone. 🙂

  14. i join reforestation campaigns and plant trees!

  15. What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?“

    Turning off lights, TV, etc when not in use. Using energy efficient light bulbs 🙂

  16. A very personal activity that I religiously do that makes planet Earth awesome is that I make sure to always flush after I use the toilet.

    After using the portalets on running events and seeing many disastrous unflushed portalets, I realized how awesome my contribution is to planet earth and plan to continue keeping this place awesome and also educating the Filipinos the beauty of the “flush”

    Maraming Salamat Po!

  17. we have a carpool to reduce our carbon footprint

  18. I reduce electrical consumption by turning off excess lights, I reuse the back of bond papers if ever I need to print at all, and I recycle water bottle containers for my runs. I also ride public trans instead of bringing my car to work. I enjoy living in my awesome world.

    sinemahilig@yahoo.com

  19. Currently, I am more active in organizing the Mayon 360-degrees International Ultra Marathon. I considered it as my contribution to the world being awesome as it is a race around the World’s Most Perfect Coned Volcano 😉 – zaldy_s@yahoo.com

  20. I believe a simple keeping your candy wrapper in your pocket if there is no trash can can make this world Awesome!

  21. What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?“

    I run for a cause and I climb mountains to see the beauty of God’s creation.. 🙂

    Goldy dela Cruz
    marygoldndc@yahoo.com

  22. “What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?“ answer: by being clean to the environment is a very good practice. The youngsters should see what are we doing so that they will practice it also. Act now so that we will have a nice place for the future.

  23. Just being FIT. Exercise, Indoor/Outdoor Sports (specially running, proper motivation and understanding. those keys for me was an awesome things can contribute. Being Fit means you can vary on all aspect and field in sports either competitive or not. 😀

  24. hi!

    I try to be concious about taking care of the environment as much as i can, like recycling, taking the public transportation and walking or riding my bike if i have to go somewhere near.

  25. “Start doing whatever is within your ability today. Start showing more concern and love to the people around you. Start to make monthly donations to your favourite charity. Start putting more effort in your work to increase the value output. Every effort counts, no matter how small and insignificant may seem. Just do something, and do something good.”

    EDWARD QUERRAS
    edward.querras@ncogroup.com

  26. “What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?- proper awareness on garbage handling/disposal =)

  27. i think one of my practices that the world make me awesome is not using plastic when we go to gropceries.

  28. “What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?“

    I teach my kids to enjoy the outdoors and appreciate nature.

  29. THE world make me awesome bec of being environment friendly.

    edmundo gantes

    edmundogantes@yahoo.com

  30. I take the stairs at the office.

  31. “What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?“

    I believe sharing my interest in running with others contributes to the world being awesome! Sharing your experiences and knowledge about exercise and healthy living with one person will make a difference. And that person will pass it on and another will pass it on until we’re living in a health-conscious, well-informed community. =)

  32. I just don’t drop my trash anywhere. I make sure it goes to the right place.. to the trash can. All we need is a little discipline and a little care for our environment and our fellowmen. Who knows how beautiful our world could be if everyone cares for the environment.

  33. What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?
    – walking and running

  34. being able to smile while running contributes to the world being awesome

  35. at the office,instead of using styro cups I use my mug to reduce waste to our mother earth.

  36. When I ran my first full marathon w/ only one 21k practiced, and unaware of running basics……

  37. Travelling and Mountain Climbing is what I do to contribute to say that the world is awesome…

  38. I practice random acts of kindness, like sharing what I have, letting other shine or just giving without expectations – whether they return the favor or not, whether they like it or not, whether they’re nice to you or not, these are all irrelevant. These are my little gestures to make the world an awesome place to live!

  39. Wasn’t able to include my details on my entry yesterday.

    Benjamin Pacheco
    benjnp@gmail.com
    Cleanliness makes the world awesome and few ways of me contributing to it is to make sure that I promote cleanliness in everyday living even when running. I use Nathan quickdraw when running to avoid using plastic cups and if ever I use the plastic cups I make sure that I’ll throw it in the trashbag after use. I also make use of reusable loot bags whenever I go to the grocery to avoid using too much plastics.

  40. As my dad tells me and my siblings: “It is very important to always treat people like people.” In this way, the people you come in contact with, will walk away feeling better than they did before. And this I believe would contribute to the positive evolution of an awesome world!

  41. MY personal activities that contributes to the world being awesome is joining a run for a cause specially if the beneficiary is our environment.

    jerry peralta

    jeri.peralta@yahoo.com
    10k

  42. my personal activity is tree planting which we often do in our place, and i believe this trees will contribute to the world being awesome…

    eagdamag@yahoo.com

  43. Running and walking not only helps us to maintain a healthy lifestyle, it also helps us in understanding the people and the surroundings around us.

    yvesmozart@yahoo.com

  44. I believe that by cleaning our surrounding area daily i already contributes for the world being awesome…

    vonchcruz@yahoo.com

  45. sinisimulan ko sa pagtatapon ng basura sa tamang lalagyan upang di makasira sa kalikasan….

  46. Running events and helping each other out contribute to the world being awesome.

  47. Mountain Climbing. During our climbs, we pick up trash along the trail so others can enjoy it as well.

  48. I believe that this world would be a better place to live in, if we the humans contributes to the upliftment of all the wholesome qualities and individual should possess.
    I’ll go running for almost everyday because exercise is a contribution for the maintenance of good health, if I am healthy I can perform my duties and responsibilities to my family and fellowmen.
    I am a lover of nature and I paint the different environment that exhibits the beauty and splendor of the world we live in. Many of the viewers will appreciate the numerous gifts given by nature and they will learn to conserve and preserve our natural resources.

  49. Running…
    I run because it’s my passion, and not just a sport. Every time I walk out the door, I know why I’m going where I’m going and I’m already focused on that special place where I find my peace and solitude. Running, to me, is more than just a physical exercise… it’s a consistent reward for victory!

  50. I run because it’s my passion, and not just a sport. Every time I walk out the door, I know why I’m going where I’m going and I’m already focused on that special place where I find my peace and solitude. Running, to me, is more than just a physical exercise… it’s a consistent reward for victory!

  51. Biking to work!

  52. Walking to work.

  53. Proper garbage disposal and energy conservation.

  54. Running outdoors contributes to the world being more awesome because it makes everyone experience nature and places more personal.

  55. What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?“

    For me, I think being good, smart, friendly and having a positive outlook in life towards of all the people we share with…

  56. What personal activities/practices do you have that you believe contributes to the world being awesome?
    My response: I will not buy any sports equipment to build my strength, fighting spirit and many more.
    I rather be a Runner in natural way.. 🙂

  57. I evade a commute as much as possible, I usually walk to my destination if its less than a kilometer if i’m not in a hurry. Not only it saves me 8 pesos, saves gas, less pollution, but also serves as a good exercise:)

  58. I inspire and motivate other people to run. Tell them the healthy benefits of running and renew their lives 🙂

  59. […] Visit KulitRunner’s blog  for maps and finisher shirt pics. Oh do check out the shirts. They are uber nice! […]

Comments are closed.

