36th National MILO Marathon Kicked-Off in BAGUIO

The MILO Marathon fever is definitely on as the very first leg of 17 elimination races of the 36th National MILO Marathon was successfully held at the Melvin Jones Grandstand along Harrison Road in the city of Baguio. 

The race was attended by over 6,000 registered participants – a testament tohow the MILO Marathon  brand of races have phenomenally grown in terms of following and class.  

Baguio hosted over 6k registered runners during the first leg of the 36th National MILO Marathon

With the first leg finished, two champions 30-year-old Hernanie Sore along with MILO Marathon queen Cristabel Martes dominated the opening leg in the 21-kilometer uphill and downhill course. While school children from Baguio were given running shoes as part of the “Help Give Shoes” advocacy, now on its third year and again donating another 10,000 shoes to underprivileged kids.

Baguio 21K champions with Andrew Neri MILO Sports Exec, Michelle Alvarillo Nestle Business Exec Mngr, Baguio City Mayor Mauricio Domogan, Robbie de Vera MILO Sports Exec and Coach Rio de la Cruz

Read on the press release below to know more about the concluded Baguio Leg of the 36th National MILO Marathon. 🙂


BAGUIO, PHILIPPINES, July 1, 2012 – Hernanie Sore and former MILO marathon queen Cristabel Martes served notice of their respective title aspiration bid by dominating the opening leg of the 36th National MILO Marathon on Sunday in Baguio City.

The 30-year-old Sore finished the Baguio qualifying leg with a time of 1:14:59, topping the treacherous 21-kilometer uphill and downhill course in the men’s category, while the ageless 32-year-old Martes finished with a clocking of 1:34:46, leading the women’s division.

According to Martes, she has been joining running clinics to prepare for the 36th MILO Marathon hoping to reach the national finals. Similarly, Sore had been conditioning himself for the 42-kilometer distance run.  “I didn’t really train for the 21-kilometer distance run,” said Sore. “I am surprised that I won first place in this category.  I will continue to condition myself for the Manila elimination leg at the end of this month.”

Cesar Lastaneto Jr. was a close second with a time of 1:15:03 followed by Marson Tarcelo with 1:20:18.In the distaff side, Mercy Taypok of University of Baguio finished second with a time of 1:38:30. And Gretchen Felipe followed with 1:49:32.

A total of 25 men and 3 women passed the qualifying criteria for the 36th MILO Marathon National Finals. Among the 36th MILO Marathon National Finals qualifiers in the men’s division are 30-year-old Tarcelo,  25-year-old Tagamolila, 22-year-old Lomyog, 34-year-old Morales, 30-year-old Mantilez, 32-year-old Decawan, 42-year-old Rubang, 36-year-old Arellano,  35-year-old Calil (1:33:59), 38-year-old Murao (1:35:51),  44-year-old Gonzales (1:38:21), 43-year-old Arceo (1:38:50),  44-year-old Banillian (1:39:58), 44-year-old Bacani (1:40:35), 24-year-old Galut (1:30:14), 46-year-old Isican (1:38:12), 51-year-old Rimualdo (1:13:40), 50-year-old Perez (1:46:33), 54-year-old Verzosa (1:46:50),58-year-old Catapang (1:47:30), 62-year-old Ramos (1:51:03), 52-year-old Escano (1:50:26) and 55-year-old Nagyaan (1:54:47).

Joining veteran Martes in the 36th MILO Marathon National Finals in the women’s division are 20-year-old Marcy Taypok (1:38:30) and 46-year-old Cleotilde Labrador (1:55:00).

Baguio was a host to more than 6,000 registered runners for MILO’s opening leg race in this year’s National MILO Marathon. Organizers are expecting a total of 200,000 runners through the 18 elimination legs in 17 cities to participate in the nationwide search for the best runners in the country today. The winner in the local category of the 36th MILO Marathon National Finals will receive P 150,000 for the men and women’s division, respectively, while a sum of P300,000 will be given to the winners in the Open category.

After the Baguio Leg, the qualifying race will shift to Dagupan on July 8, Tarlac on July 15, Angeles City on July 22, Metro Manila on July 29, Naga on Aug. 19, San Pablo, Laguna on Sept. 2, Lipa, Batangas on Sept. 16, Puerto Princesa, Palawan on Sept. 23, Tagbilaran on Sept. 30, Cebu on Oct. 7, Bacolod on Oct. 14, Iloilo on Oct. 28, Gen. Santos on Nov. 4, Davao on Nov. 11, Butuan on Nov. 18 and Cagayan de Oro City on No. 25. The 36th MILO Marathon National Finals is slated on December 9 at the SM Mall of Asia in Pasay City.

500 school children from Baguio were given running shoes as a part of the “Help Give Shoes” advocacy of MILO which is currently on its third year of staging. Students from the Rizal Elementary School, Quirino Elementary School, Dona Josefa Elementary School, Mabini Elementary School, and Pine City Elementary School were the lucky beneficiaries. Andrew Neri, MILO Sports Executive, said MILO is donating another 10,000 shoes this year on top of the 14,200 count from the last 2 years. National race technical director Rio de la Cruz said that for a foreign runner to qualify in the National Finals, he or she must provide proof of finish in any sanctioned or accredited races by the Association of International Marathons (AIMS) for at least one year before the race

The 36th National MILO Marathon is made possible by Timex, the Bayview Park Hotel Manila and Reebok, along with partnerships with the Department of Education and the Philippine Olympic Committee. For more information on the race and its advocacy, visit the MILO marathon website or access the MILO Philippines fanpage on Facebook.

About the National MILO Marathon

The National MILO Marathon is an annual marathon event open to amateur and professional runners. From its humble beginnings in 1974 as a single marathon race in Metro Manila attended by 747 participants, the National MILO Marathon has grown to be the biggest, longest, grandest national running event in the country attracting more than hundreds of thousands of runners across the country. The race is organized by RunRio, Inc.

One Response

  1. hirap mag pa register online today hindi maka pasok ano kaya problema…samantala kahapon ang bilis naman……

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: