36th National MILO Marathon – DAGUPAN 21k Race Results

The 36th MILO Marathon fever continues to heat as the second leg of this legendary race series was wrapped-up last Sunday at the province of Dagupan.

Wilson Maningkil topped the men’s division while Lany Cardona ruled the women’s category today in the 21-k second leg of the 36th National Milo Marathon held in Dagupan City.

Were you one of the participants of the 36th MILO -Dagupan 21km race category? View your race results by downloading the file below and/or check if you qualified for the 36th National MILO Finals to be held in Manila. 😉

36th MILO Marathon – Dagupan 21km Overall Race Results
36th MILO Marathon – Dagupan Finals Qualified List

Meanwhile, herein is the official press release for the said race leg. Read on! 😉

21K Champions raising their well deserved trophies during the 36th MILO Marathon Dagupan race last July 8

Maningkil, Cardona show wares in Dagupan elims of Milo Marathon

DAGUPAN City, July 8, 2012: Wilson Maningkil topped the men’s division while Lany Cardona ruled the women’s category Sunday in the 21-k second leg of the 36th National Milo Marathon held in Dagupan City.  9,700 runners registered for the race leg.

Maningkil dominated the course with a time of 1:15:28, leading the second batch of qualifiers in the men’s division. “I’ve been training two hours everyday. Our real aspiration for training so hard is to defeat the Kenyans,” he said.

Not to be outdone was Cardona, who hurdled the flat cemented course with ease despite a minor injury. She crossed the finish line in 1:38:58 to pocket the P10,000 elimination prize.

They will join the 28 runners led by Hernani Sore and Cristabel Martes, both of whom passed the first qualifying race held in Baguio City last Sunday, and the 11 qualifiers from the Dagupan leg in the National Finals on December 9 at the SM Mall of Asia (MOA) grounds in Pasay City.

Finishing second behind Maningkil was Ferdinand Corpuz who clocked in 1:17:16 followed by Jeric Buhian with 1:22:21, Ronnie Rosete with 1:23:01 and Rogel Anajao with 1:24:32.

In the distaff side, Angie Botardo of VMUF finished second behind Cardona with a time of 1:49:10 followed by Jessa Mae Cortez with 1:54:28, Jhocell Asis with 2:03:59 and Maidy Soriano with 2:30:25.

According to Virgilio Padilla, athletic coach, Umingan National High School, the school piloted an annual campaign to give shoes to athletes called Lumang Sapatos, Ibigay sa athlete. “This year, our athletes received 100 pairs of brand new shoes. We are very grateful that MILO forms part in fulfilling the students’ dreams,” he said. This is the sixth consecutive year that they received honors for being the fastest school delegation.

Andrew Neri, Milo Sports Executive, said that some 10,000 children nationwide from selected schools will also benefit from MILO’s “Help Give Shoes” advocacy program, which is now on its third year of staging.

Organizers are expecting a total of 200,000 runners through the 18 elimination legs in 17 cities to participate in the nationwide search for the best runners in the country today. The winner in the local category of the 36th Milo Marathon National Finals will receive P 150,000 for the men and women’s division, respectively, while a sum of P300,000 will be given to the winners in the Open category. A bonus prize of P50,000 will also be accorded to the runner who can break the 2:15:00 invisible barrier and P20,000 for the male runner who can break the 2:18:53 course record set by Eduardo Buenavista in 2004. Another P20,000 is also offered to  the female runner who can break the 2:48:16 record of Jho-Ann Banayag in 2008. National race technical director Rio de la Cruz said that for a foreign runner to qualify in the National Finals, he or she must provide proof of finish in any sanctioned or accredited races by the Association of International Marathons (AIMS) for at least one year before the race day.

After the Dagupan Leg, the qualifying race will shift to Tarlac on July 15, Angeles City on July 22, Metro Manila on July 29, Naga on Aug. 19, San Pablo, Laguna on Sept. 2, Lipa, Batangas on Sept. 16, Puerto Princesa, Palawan on Sept. 23, Tagbilaran on Sept. 30, Cebu on Oct. 7, Bacolod on Oct. 14, Iloilo on Oct. 28, Gen. Santos on Nov. 4, Davao on Nov. 11, Butuan on Nov. 18 and Cagayan de Oro City on No. 25. The 36th Milo Marathon National Finals is slated on December 9 at the SM Mall of Asia in Pasig City.

The 36th National MILO Marathon is made possible by Timex, the Bayview Park Hotel Manila and Reebok, along with partnerships with the Department of Education and the Philippine Olympic Committee. For more information on the race and its advocacy, visit the MILO marathon website or access the MILO Philippines fanpage on Facebook.

About the National MILO Marathon

The National MILO Marathon is an annual marathon event open to amateur and professional runners. From its humble beginnings in 1974 as a single marathon race in Metro Manila attended by 747 participants, the National MILO Marathon has grown to be the biggest, longest, grandest national running event in the country attracting more than hundreds of thousands of runners across the country. The race is organized by RunRio, Inc.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: