NIKE We Run Manila 10k Blog Promo Winners!

AND FINALLY!!! Congratulations to the following winners as chosen by representatives from NIKE:

1. RICHARD LORESCA

“My favorite sports heroes inspire me to run. I won’t forget that day when Philippines’ very own Lydia de Vega won the 100m dash in 1991 Southeast Asian Games. I was there at the jampacked Rizal Memorial Football Stadium, watching in awe as Diay crosses the finish line first, and dreaming that someday I might be able to experience the glory of being cheered on by my countrymen.

I love running ever since I was little, but that dream will remain a dream. Realistically, I don’t run as fast as Lydia so I just studied and had a job. But whenever I finishes a fun run, I am feeling the same way as my idol did. Seeing all those people cheering at the finish line and all those cameras flashing everywhere makes me feel proud and victorious.

Perseverance made Roger Federer a 17-time grand slam singles champion in tennis. Persistence helps Kobe Bryant earn five NBA championship rings. Discipline catapulted Manny Pacquiao to eight boxing titles. The sport of running teaches me all these traits. i will run as long as my body permits. I will run as long as there are roads to run to. And I will run as long as there are new sports heroes that will inspire me to push myself to the the limits and dream big.”

2. EDWARD DIENTE

“I have been a video game addict since my childhood and was thin and looks unhealthy. Been idle for decades and never exercised since my favorite sports is chess. I worked as a graphic designer and i’m in front of a computer for most part of my life. Now, what inspired me to run? My family has a hypertension heritage both my father and mother. Years gone by and relatives passed away with stroke as a main diagnosis. The saddest of them all is when my mother died from pneumonia caused by her 3rd stroke attack. Her first stroke even caused her to have an amnesia for 6 months which I thought only happens in the movies. Now, my father was already attacked thrice by minor stroke. Thanks to his maintenance meds and healthy vegetable and fish diet, major stroke never occurred to him. He never exercised by the way. This made me realized that I need to go out there and work for that healthy heart and lungs. I already finished my first marathon at TBR, a lot of 21k’s, and countless 10k, 5k and training runs. With passion for running and making it a lifestyle, it got me to also inspire my family, friends and co-workers to also run and join fun runs and races. This made me a better person and living now an active and a happy life :)”

3. OLIVER GUTIERREZ

“I always loved running…it was something I could do by myself, and under own strength. I could go in any direction, fast or slow as you wanted, fighting the wind if you felt like it, seeking out new sights just on the strength of your feet and the courage of your stamina.” For me running is a way to learn about challeges, accomplishments, struggles and a way to meet new friends and places.

When I running, it doesn’t matter whether I come in first, in the middle of the pack, or last.Sabi ko na lang sa sarili ko (Translation: I only said to myself), ‘I have finished this.” ” I don’t have to go fast, I just have to go” I have lot of reasons why I love running Reward myself (Get my finisher medal, To meet fellow marathoners (Talk to other runners), Boost my self-confidence, Boost stamina, Explore new city, Run with my personal record, Let go of negative emotions, Stress relief, To help the beneficiary of the event, To achieve my goal to win in marathon as 1st place.”

Again, congratulations to the three of you! Please expect an email from me with the details on how you are to claim your prize. Once you receive the email, you will need to reply outright for you to be able to claim/register for your prize.

Thank you!

6 Responses

  1. Thank you so much Ms. Kulit Runner and of course sa Nike! Hope to meet you someday mam.

  2. This is great! Thanks mam vimz! Thanks Nike! 🙂

  3. Thank you Kulit Runner..

Leave a Reply

