The Merrell Siren Sport GTX: My Future “IT” Trail Shoe

I was on one of those weekend home tasks, trying to fix/arrange the corner of our room where I keep my running shoes, when hubby asked me a question nonchalantly – “With all those running shoes, I bet you won’t think of adding one really soon, right?”

“As a matter of fact, I do. I need a trail shoe”. His question is actually spot on to what have been at that time going on in my mind. With all the running shoes in my shoe closet, the only trail shoe I have needs to be replaced already.

In my search for that most coveted trail shoe, I have listed my requirements:

  • should be both functional as a trail running shoe or a mountain biking shoe
  • should be light weight (as light a trail running shoe can be)
  • needs to have a waterproof but breathable upper (some trail shoe doesn’t provide much comfort that is needed for warmer climates)
  • has to provide good cushioning (for someone with Plantar Fasciitis, this is a must!)
  • soles needs to have a good grip
  • good looking shoe not a must but definitely a plus
  • not be too expensive

And so, search the web I did, to try to find one that will conform to the requirements I listed. I started with the brand that I am most familiar and comfortable with: MERRELL. As always, I was not disappointed because I found one that might be the “IT trail shoe” for me: the Merrell Siren Sport GTX SS11

Review-Merrell-Siren-Sport-Gore-Tex-XCR-Shoes

According to the website, http://www.merrell.com, the following are the features of the said Merrell Trail shoe:

UPPER/LINING

blue

  • Strobel construction offers flexibility and comfort
  • Synthetic leather and mesh upper
  • Bellows tongue keeps debris out
  • GORE-TEX® Extended Comfort Footwear lining keeps feet dry and comfortable
  • Lining treated with Aegis® antimicrobial solution
  • Ortholite® anatomical footbed

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE

sole

  • Molded nylon arch shank
  • QForm® Comfort midsole provides specific stride-sequenced cushioning for women
  • Merrell® Air Cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability
  • 5mm Sole lug depth
  • Vibram® Siren Song Sole/TC5+ Rubber
  • Weight: 1 lb. 5 ozs. (326g)

The Siren Sport, seems to be a goodie – one that has covered the basics I need and more! It is light weight but doesn’t sacrifice on providing a high level of protection and support in the soles – with Vibram, QForm and Ortholite taking prominence in the construction of the shoe.

In the looks department, well it isn’t green (my favorite color!), but it definitely looks better than most trail shoes I have seen.

I am betting that aside from being a good trail shoe for running and mountain biking, this model will really be perfect for comfortable hiking.

I am truly excited to get my hands, (errr feet!) on a pair to try out and eventually purchase. But wait! Isn’t it Christmas in just a number of days? Someone whom I remember asking me about shoe purchases earlier might be able to read this and well, you know… 

Note: The Merrell Siren Sport GTX S11 is available online through http://www.springfield-camping.co.uk/ and locally at Merrell Concept stores and department stores nationwide.

Leave a Reply

