Writing to the Next Level?

Aside from being a blogger, I’ve been given a lot of different labels in my freelance job in sports events – social media manager, digital media consultant, PR coordinator, crisis manager. All of these tasks I believe I embraced and performed with passion. It is after all, a “job that feels not like a job” for me.Β 

This year I have been asked to write Press Releases (PR) for a number of times for various big events. Each time that I was, I always ask myself – “Why me?”, “Will I do good enough?”. I will usually end up saying “yes” to writing because a friend once told me – “You wouldn’t know of the answer to your questions unless you try.”

So write the PRs I did, never even trying to find out if each one made it to print or have been included in published online magazines or blog posts. It never seemed to matter to me at that time as having being able to write something acceptable to others feels like an accomplishment already. It has always been that way until today, when I got this:

the BGC Cycle Phils post-event release on today's Philippine Star newspaper the story and photo captions of which were written by me :)

the BGC Cycle Phils post-event release on today’s Philippine Star newspaper the story and photo captions of which were written by me πŸ™‚

here is a digital copy :)

here is a digital copy πŸ™‚

My very own write-up saw print in a major news broadsheet in the country! It doesn’t have my name on it and nobody could have known that I wrote it but it gives me a different kind of accomplishment. I am no writer but look, the words I carefully pieced together is there in the newspaper. I am silently happy. Giddy and happy. πŸ™‚Β 

Thank you P for always asking me to do or try something new. Even when I think I can’t you always believed that I can. Achieved! πŸ™‚

Now should I add another item to my list of work skills?

Ciao!

P.S.
I have been so preoccupied with a lot of things in the past but can I now just say that I missed blogging and sharing event updates here? I’ll be back soon, promise!

2 Responses

  1. Congrats, Ms. Vimz! That’s how life works, I guess, that we wouldn’t know what we can accomplish until we try. πŸ™‚

  2. congrats miss Vimz!

Leave a Reply

