Just released: The Mizuno Wave Creation 18

Now on its 100th year as a company, it seems like Mizuno is bent on making its presence felt in the running community through a series of valuable contributions. After releasing the latest versions of the Wave Rider (19) and Wave Inspire (12), they have recently released a new version in their Wave Creation line, the Wave Creation 18.

img_7467

These new releases only validates the fact that Mizuno’s notable contribution to the running community has always been the development of high-quality products that function well with exactly what serious runner needs. 

From the recently-held short test run with Team Mizuno wherein we were given our own pair of the Wave Creation 18, here are my initial take aways:

  • Unboxing the shoes, I shall give credit to Mizuno for consistently coming up with exciting color combinations. Mine was in bold colors of diva pink, black and yellow. I am not much into pink and would have preferred the other color way of capri, diva pink and blue but the pair I got elicited glances everytime I wear it and will definitely be a favorite for women runners who are on a lookout for eye candy colors on a shoe.
  • At first fit, I felt outright comfortable with the pair. It has a mesh upper that is breathable. It was occasionally drizzling when we had a test run and my feet did not get wet. Hopefully this will still ring true for running in the rain.
  • The shoe, maybe because it is designed for large runners, is not as narrow as the other Mizuno shoe line. From the toe box, the midsection and up to the heel counter, the shoe is a bit wide for me who has narrow feet. But not to worry as all I had to do is make sure that I pull the shoe laces tight enough for a comfortable and snug feel. For those who have narrow feet like me, I suggest that you try one in your actual feet size as this might provide the perfect fit for you.
  • The cushioning is firm and can be felt especially on the heel area.

img_7469

Overall we had a nice short test run, enough for us to get an initial feel of the shoe. It is a shoe that will work for me on short runs and I look forward to being able to try it on long runs and on different surfaces like on wet roads, on the track and on light trails as the Wave Creation 18 is said to be designed to be enjoyed while running anywhere. 

img_7474

The Mizuno Wave Creation 18 is now available in Mizuno Stores in the Philippines.

*Thank you to the people of Mizuno Philippines for inviting me to the Wave Creation 18 test run and for providing me with a complimentary pair.

 

Leave a Reply

