The Summit Water CamSur Marathon – A runner’s feedback

One of the great things about running and maintaining a blog was the opportunity to get to know people who value the same passion I have with the sport. Suffice to say, my network of friends and acquaintances grew through these. What I really did not expect before was the possibility of me exchanging correspondences from  strangers I haven’t even met yet but because of running, it’s as if we have a foundation for friendship that can be easily built from.

One of those “virtual friends” I really look forward to meeting is Macky de Lima, an employee of the First Balfour and an alumna of the Ateneo de Naga High School Class of 1983.  Being a Bicolano, Macky signed-up for the CamSur Marathon, targetting to run the full marathon distance  together with his HS Batch/Classmates Bobby Castilla, Ruben Fajardo & Allen Tolledo. When I received his email yesterday telling me his story of them successfully finishing the full (it was his second, the first being the TBR Dream Marathon last May and his classmates’ first!), I right then and there thought that it is worth posting in this blog. I don’t know if it is just “emo me” but there is something heartwarming when I hear or read stories about people finishing their 42k race. Maybe because it is really a very different and life-changing experience. For Macky, it is even both an accomplishment and a tool for encouraging friends, officemates and classmates to take on running as a leisure but healthy sport. So without much further ado, here is Macky’s CamSur Marathon experience in his own words.

I am back  in Ortigas  from Bicol after the Camsur Marathon.  It was a priceless experience for me as it was my first time to run a race or fun run in my home province of Camarines Sur.  What made it more special is that I was able to recruit 3 of my high school classmates (Ateneo de Naga HS Batch 1983) to join me in running the marathon.  For my 3 classmates, this was their first ever full marathon, for one even, it was his first ever race  to join.  With the grace of our patroness Our Lady of Penafrancia, and thanks to the 16-week training program I got from my TBR   Dream Marathon experience  last May, all 4 of us finished the 42.195 marathon.

As always, we are impressed with the race organizing skills of Coach Rio and his team.  Anticipating the humid  conditions of the marathon, there were more water stations at the later stages of the race (almost at 500 meter intervals for the last 10 kms).  Riding his motor scooter, Coach Rio was all over the race route checking on the participants, particularly the ones lagging behind.    Credit also to the provincial government for endeavoring in the event.

What I will most remember of my Camsur Marathon experience is the warmth and kindness of the spectator crowds in the rural areas who trooped to watch the runners for the whole marathon route.  Kids and adults alike were slapping  high fives with the runners.  Greetings of good morning and clapping were generously shared by the crowds to spur on the runners.  It was a festive and interactive run for the participants.  A special and priceless experience for me and my hs classmates.  We will surely be running the Camsur Marathon come 2011.

I share a few pics.

Macky posing with Bicolano kids holding a welcome poster for CamSur Marathon participants

getting heat relief from a support crew

this pic was originally captioned as “with a runner from Legaspi” but I was really surprised to see the runner to be Happy Feet’s Leia and the other guy to be MonAllen (second from left) and fellow runners helping each other to finish

Macky’s classmate receiving high fives from expectators

Allen proudly finishes second to last his first running race ever and gained new friends too

with coach rio at the finishline

Congratulations Macky, Bobby, Ruben and Allen and also Leia and Mon for finishing the CamSur full. Congratulations too to the Runrio group as headed by Coach Rio, the Event King team headed by Princess Galura and Gov. LRay Villafuerte together with the people of CamSur for a very successful running event.

Not to forget, many thanks Macky and hope to run with you soon!

Leave a comment